Top 20 UNESCO World Heritage Sites Everyone Should Know About

UNESCO is short for the United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization and is dedicated to preserving sites of cultural significance worldwide.

Mount Fuji, Japan

Mount Fuji was designated a World Heritage Site in 2013. This iconic Japanese mountain has been a source of artistic inspiration since the 11th century.

Danxia Landform, China

This awe-inspiring natural formation in southwestern China is home to many species of flora and fauna, 400 of which are considered rare or threatened.

Great Wall of China

Through to the fourteenth century and added to the World Heritage Site list in 1987, the Great Wall of China is often cited as one of the only man-made structures that can be seen from space.

Taj Mahal, India

The Taj Mahal was constructed from 1638-1644 in memory of the Mughal emperor Shah Jahan’s favorite wife. It is one of the most iconic World Heritage Site locations.

Jaipur City, India

The walled city of Jaipur was founded in northwestern India in 1727 by Sawai Jai Singh II and is considered a prime example of city planning that combines Western methods with Hindu concepts.

Ha Long Bay, Vietnam

The Ha Long Bay World Heritage Site consists of 1,600 islands and inlets that form a spectacular landscape of naturally occurring limestone pillars. It was designated as a World Heritage Site in 1994.

Angkor, Cambodia

One of the most important Southeast Asian archaeological sites, the Angkor Archaeological Park was designated a World Heritage Site in 1992.

Pyramids of Giza, Egypt

The Pyramids of Giza have been recognized throughout time for their majesty. Built around 2550 BC, the Pyramids at Giza were considered one of the Seven Wonders of the World in ancient times.

Serengeti National Park, Tanzania

Serengeti National Park is renowned for its diverse wildlife, including the annual migration of hundreds of thousands of wildebeest, gazelles, and zebras.

Lake Nakuru, Kenya

Lake Nakuru is part of a three-lake system in the Great Rift Valley that’s home to 13 globally threatened bird species. The Great Rift Valley Lake System was designated as a World Heritage Site in 2011.

Read the Full Article: Top 20 UNESCO World Heritage Sites Everyone Should Know About

For More  Stories Visit